|ARC Book Review| A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Posted December 20, 2015 by Jenna in book reviews / 3 Comments

I received this book for free from Bloomsbury Childrens in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

|ARC Book Review| A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. MaasA Court of Thorns and Roses Published by Bloomsbury on May 5, 2015
Genres: Adventure, Faeries, Fairy Tales, Fantasy, High Fantasy, retelling, Young Adult
Pages: 416
Source: Bloomsbury Childrens
Goodreads
A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it... or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

my thoughts

 

 

First, I want to say thanks for reading this review/post! It’s been months since I last posted. I totally lack commitment writing on this blog! I hope to remedy that the next couple of weeks! 😉 Okay, for the review!

 

It’s no secret that I love Sarah J. Maas, from the first moment I met her in BEA (book expo america) 2012! She hasn’t released her first published book then (Throne of Glass). That series is a MUST READ for every YA readers out there! And this new series did not disappoint as well!

 

Sarah Maas + a book retelling my favorite fairytale story? (Beauty and the Beast)? = uhm, YES PLEASE. Every time I pick up a book written by this author, I am blown away. Blown away by how intricate she builds her story. Blown away to another world, even in the tiniest bit escaping this current world we live in… I feel like comparing her works to finding a gem beneath all rotten garbage junk pile. It’s refreshing and weirdly a comfort to the soul.

 

A Court of Thorns and Roses (even I am impressed with that title- more impressed once you figured out how it fits in the story!) is a (borderline) young adult/new adult fantasy retelling of beauty and the beast– except very different from the Disney story we all love and grew up with. The story follows of a girl named Feyre, whose family was formerly rich and famous, but now ranks one of the lowliest in their society. Feyre is pretty much the sole provider of her family. One night, an act of desperation, fear and hunger led her to be captured as prisoner (in exchange for accidentally killing a faerie wolf) to a land she hates. But little did she know, in the most uncanny way and impossible of places, she falls in love and lives a life she never even dreamed of. And then in the end, (because OF COURSE it has to be ruined!!!) it all has a cost to be paid. Learning there’s a ticking time bomb for all the things she has grown to love, and she’s forced to leave them, and being helpless with nothing possible to do….

 

This book will take you to a fantastic journey of Feyre’s story- of existing to living and loving and sacrifice and aaaah! It’s been honestly months and months since I last read this, but I can still remember finishing the book with a smile on my face and the itching annoyance that I have to wait a year for the next one. lol. There are some cliché butterlies-in-my-stomach moments, heart-wrenching ones too. Thankfully, I loved the characters, the character-building, even the villains. This series is just an exciting one. I highly HIGLY recommend it!

 

Warning: Not for the younger readers I would say…

 

 

Note: Got this book for free, but was not paid/sponsored/’forced’ to review it.

5 Stars

Please like & share:

Tags: , , , , ,


3 responses to “|ARC Book Review| A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.